Congratulations Weston University Class of 2017

The Weston City Commission formally recognized the Weston University Program Class of 2017. Twenty-two students were honored for completing the unique civic education program offered by the City of Weston. The Weston City Commissioners, along with School Board Member Robin Bartleman, of Weston, were on hand for the graduation ceremony. Students were presented with plaques and memory books with photos from their various activities throughout the year.

Weston University provides select high school students with an in-depth education in the functions of local government. Throughout the seven-month course, students met once a month for a full-day program that highlighted different aspects and characteristics of Weston’s governmental structure.

The program days included a focus on: local and state government; fire and emergency medical services; community services/public works; development services including planning and zoning as well as engineering; law enforcement services; local government and finance, and technology services. The class also took a one-day field trip to Washington D.C.

The Weston University program concluded with a mock city commission meeting during which students portrayed the various roles of city government. During the simulation, the students utilized the knowledge they had gained throughout the program year to present and/or defend their side of several agenda issues.

Weston University liaison Denise Barrett-Miller says she is extremely proud of the Class of 2017. “Without a doubt, these students are our leaders of tomorrow and we are in excellent hands. Each year our goal, along with imparting a civic education, is to open their eyes to the wide variety of job opportunities in the public sector. Many of our students have selected a career path due to their program participation.”

The City would like to acknowledge its Weston University Program Class of 2017: Daniel Acosta, Laura Ariza, Marissa Babitz, Edha Chopra, Gabriella Cuellar, Samuel Cuervo, Krysta Downie, Maya Fruitman, Jeremy Jackson, Sofia Lopez, Taylor Lopez, Isabella Maietta, Sofia Martiarena, Adam Mendel, Elisabeth Mitrano, Santiago Orozco, Sanjana Pai, Joey Perez, Marcos Rivero, Cynthia Rosensteel, Valeria Ruiz, and Matthew Wetcher.

In September, the City will open applications for the Weston University Class of 2018. The program is open to Weston residents attending Cypress Bay High School, The Sagemont School and Western High School, as well as homeschooled students. To apply, students must submit an essay entitled “Communities Need Leaders” to their high school. The field of students will be narrowed by school administration and the City’s Department of Communications to select the final class of 20 to 24 students.

For more information on the Weston University program visit There is also a link to view the Weston University Class of 2017 memory book.